Michelle Riley
Director of Development & Community Relations
570.823.0156 ext. 218

Osterhout Free Library
71 S. Franklin Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701

Planned Giving

Make a contribution to the Library as part of your will. Planned giving can be tailored to your unique circumstances and provide long-term support to the Library, while saving you significant amounts in estate, gift, and income taxes. Naming the Osterhout Library as a beneficiary of your retirement plan assets, such as an IRA, or your life insurance policy, may also provide tax savings and help protect your assets.

How to Make a Planned Gift

Including the Osterhout Library in your will is simple, even if one has already been created for you. Make changes to your will by executing an amendment called a “codicil.” Both your will and codicil should be drafted by a qualified attorney who specializes in estate planning. Your will or codicil should refer to: Osterhout Free Library, 71 S. Franklin Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701.

More Information

We welcome the opportunity to work with you and your professional financial advisor. To download our planned giving brochure click here. If you have any questions regarding a planned gift to the Osterhout Free Library, or if you would like to inform us of your plans to bequest a gift:

Contact Michelle Riley, Director of Development & Community Relations at 570.823.0156 ext. 218 or email

Members of the Legacy Society

Donors who have left the library in their will, unless otherwise noted

Issac S. Osterhout – Founder
Florence Abrahamson
Marian Antellocy
Margaret Arthur
Richard & Marcia Aston ~
Marian Baran ~
Sarah S. Barr
John Belunas
James Francis Bielik
Thomas Bigler
Thomas G. Black
Theresa Bonk
Catherine M. Breim
Eggert V. Briem
Harry Brodhun
Regina Brogan
Mary Brown ~
Bernard F. Burgunder
Jasper Carr
Edgar L. Coon
Joan Costello
Robert Daniels
Col. Frank Davies
Dorothy Dominici ~
Arthur Emmanuel
Olin W. Evans, Jr. ~
Joseph & Anna Fekula
Margaret Mary Fischer
Martin I. Freeman, Jr.
Michael Glod #
Theophilus Jendrzejewski
Christopher Kelly ~
Barbara Klish ~
Marie Koncewich
Mary Koons
Kathryn Kramer
Eleanor M. Krushefski
Nathan Kuss
Charles & Elizabeth Laycock
Rose Liebman
Constance Lizdas

Johanna Longenberger
Eleanore L. Maloney
A.T. McClintock
Hilda L. McMullins ~
Pauline R. Milewski
Charles H. Miner Jr.
Stella M. Moat
Donald Munson
Marguerite Murdoch
Theodore Neumann
Hilda Osterhout Young
Stephen H. Paduck
David Padwe
Arline Payne Sterling
Gwen Peters
Benjamin F. Phillips
Myra Poland
Ken L. Pollock
Neil Patrick Powers
Edith M. Price
Irwin Jerome Pripstein
Janice C. Ramsay
Bessie Renowden
Charles Rappaport #
Edith Reynolds
Elizabeth Rodack ~
Beatrice Roth
Joseph J. Savitz
Seymour Schweiger
Joseph Sooby Jr.
Irving Swartz
Daniel P. Thomas
Kathryn Thomas
Kathryn Scott Wakefield
Elizabeth S. Walter
Elizabeth Wampole
Elsie Weaver
Dorothy M. Williams
Edgar Wood

In Living Will: ~
Non-Bequest Gift: #
List as of June 2020

To be recognized in the Legacy Society list above, please contact Michelle Riley, Director of Development & Community Relations at 570.823.0156 x 218 or email